CES Testing Service – Cyber Essentials Scheme

Mitigate risk from cyber security threats
image of the MTI CES logo

Get your Cyber Essentials certification

MTI provides a Cyber Essentials Scheme assessment service with everything you need to achieve CREST accredited Cyber Essentials Plus certification.

What is it?

As a CREST accredited Certifying Body, MTI can help your organisation achieve Certification to the Governments Cyber Essentials Scheme (CES).

The Cyber Essentials Scheme (CES) is broken down in two stages:

  • CES Stage 1
  • CES Plus (Stage 2)

Stage 1

This involves completing a questionnaire and submitting it to MTI for scoring and your external network undergoing a Vulnerability Scan. If no failing issues exist, then a pass certificate is immediately awarded.

However, if issues are present that result in a fail, you will receive a detailed report outlining the issues and advising on remediation steps. The security tester will be available to discuss the issues in detail.

CES Plus – Stage 2

This is conducted onsite at your office and involves performing a Build Review of a sample of Work Stations (and Servers under certain conditions), checking if email, web filtering is effective. The service also reviews your host-based antivirus/malware solution. A sample of mobile devices will also be reviewed to ensure that they are correctly configured and up-to-date.

Security expertise

MTI consultants will support the process from start to finish including assisting in completing the self-assessment questionnaire, conducting the tests and offering support for the remediation steps required to achieve a pass.

Generally most organisations will undergo CES Stage 1 testing before they undergo Stage 2 but they can be tested in any order or at the same time; however, CES Plus accreditation cannot be awarded until CES Stage 1 has been passed.

Our CES services include:

Image of a table for CES testing services with MTI Penetration testing

CES Stage 1 – Includes the Questionnaire and External Scan for up to 50 IP addresses

CES Plus (Stage 2) – Includes CES Stage 1 & CES Plus testing for 5 internal hosts, 2 mobile devices and malicious file filtering assessment.

Alternatively, if we are conducting a larger testing project for you we can incorporate CES Plus testing at no extra charge if the same hosts are being reviewed.

Special Offer for 2017; Our service provides unlimited retests until you obtain a pass.

Get in touch

Find out more about our Cyber Essentials Scheme.

Our latest report
Image of the 8 most common it security vulnerabilities guide
A comprehensive guide to the 8 most common IT security vulnerabilities and strategies for effective penetration testing.